WSC My Content Manager

Copyright 2024 by Forsyth County, Georgia


2023 Commission Districts.png
Board of Commissioners Elects 2023 Officers

During their first meeting of the year on Jan. 5, the Board of Commissioners elected officers for 2023.  

District 5 Commissioner Laura Semanson was elected to serve as vice chairwoman, and District 4 Commissioner Cindy Jones Mills was elected as secretary. District 2 Commissioner Alfred John was elected as the Board’s chairman for 2023, his second consecutive year in the role, during a Dec. 2022 meeting.

The Board of Commissioners is made up of five members, each living in a specific district and elected by their district to serve four-year terms. Each year in January, the five members elect officers for the new year, with the Chairman elected in Dec. of the previous year.

The appointment of the officers came after the Board welcomed their newest member, Kerry Hill, who was elected to serve as the District 1 Commissioner in Nov. 2022.

The County district lines also underwent changes that went into effect Jan. 1. Every ten years, following completion of the census, the U.S. Constitution requires all voting districts be reevaluated to ensure equal representation. As law establishes that representatives are to be based on population, district lines are re-drawn as needed based upon changes in population. In Forsyth County, census data has resulted in changes to all voting districts: congressional, state senate, state house, county commission and county school board.

A map of the new County commissioner and Board of Education districts can be viewed by clicking here or visiting the Voter Registrations and Elections page at Residents can learn which district they live in and more about the local and state elected officials representing them, using the County’s My Elected Representative tool.

Showing 0 Comment

Comments are closed.