WSC My Content Manager

Copyright 2023 by Forsyth County, Georgia


photo 1.png
VIDEO: Forsyth County Sheriff and Fire Hold Joint Swearing In Ceremony on Sept. 11

On Monday, Sept. 11, the Forsyth County Sheriff’s Office and Fire Department hosted a joint swearing in ceremony and joint Honor Guard presentation of the colors to commemorate the events of Sept. 11, 2001.

The event was held in front of the Forsyth County Courthouse and featured remarks by Sheriff Ron Freeman, Board of Commissioners Chairman Alfred John and Fire Chief Barry Head. Photos from the event can be found here.

Watch the full ceremony:

“Whether it is those we have lost or those we welcome in, the oath of the fire service remains the same,” said Chief Head. “This was a special occasion to swear-in our new lateral hire firefighters on a day of reminder of what it means to serve in the wake of tragedy.”

In total, 15 firefighters were sworn into service during the ceremony along with 6 deputies.  

“Today marks the day when you will swear an oath, not to a party or ideology, not to a person or organization, but rather to the Constitution and your fellow man,” Chairman John told the newest Forsyth County first responders. “And today marks the day when you find out how much a community supports you.”

Families of the newest members of the Sheriff’s Office and Fire Department, along with first responder personnel, were on hand for the event.

“What and awesome opportunity for these men and women because I can assure you, we remember when we graduated the police academy and fire academy when we were sworn in,” said Sheriff Freeman. “These men and women will never forget the day they were sworn in.”

Below are the names of the individuals sworn into service:

Fire Department (Lateral Firefighters):

  • Nicholas Beard
  • Madison Bishop
  • Alexander Birkett
  • Cody Bowen
  • Adam Brown
  • Spencer Burk
  • Kasey Hunter
  • Chasten Parson
  • Brad Redmond
  • Justin Riggs
  • Chris Shorts
  • Damian Wegner
  • Kyle Bertolone
  • Christian Durden
  • Joel Hutcheson

Sheriff’s Office (Deputy I):

  • Jorge Sanchez Gutierrez
  • Lucas Marques
  • Curtis Vickers

Sheriff’s Office (Deputy II):

  • Danyell Patterson
  • Sean Patterson
  • Holly Humphrey
Showing 0 Comment

Comments are closed.