WSC My Content Manager

Copyright 2024 by Forsyth County, Georgia


VIDEO: Portion of SR 369 Dedicated as Bobby Thomas Highway

A dedication ceremony was held at 10 a.m. on Wednesday, June 26, to name a portion of SR 369 (Browns Bridge Road) as the Bobby Thomas Highway, in honor of Bobby Thomas, owner of Thomas Lumber Company and life-long Forsyth County resident. Pictures from the event can be found here.

The portion of SR 369 dedicated to Thomas is from Gravitt Road to SR 400.

Watch the full ceremony:


“The ultimate thing we can do in this state for someone is name a road for them. I am glad to be a small part of naming this road for Mr. Thomas,” said Rep. Rick Jasperse (11th) at the ceremony.

Thomas was born in Cumming in 1946, graduated from Forsyth County High School (Forsyth Central High School), earned a bachelor’s degree from the Georgia Institute of Technology, and he served in the United States Navy.

“Bobby and Brenda Thomas and the Thomas family are shining examples of the kinds of people that make the north Forsyth community such an incredible place,” said District 4 Commissioner Cindy Jones Mills. “The naming of SR 369 in Bobby Thomas’ honor is very fitting because of all the contributions and impact he has made to and on Forsyth County, and for the history of his family’s business along this roadway. There are few Bobby Thomas’ left in our world, and this county is fortunate to have him and his family rooted here for generations.” 

Thomas has contributed greatly to the Forsyth County community, working with the Cumming-Forsyth County Chamber of Commerce, Rotary Club of Forsyth County and the board of People’s Bank in Forsyth County.

The dedication ceremony follows the introduction of Georgia House of Representatives Resolution 1300, which recognizes Thomas and authorizes the Georgia Department of Transportation to erect and maintain appropriate signs dedicating the Bobby Thomas Highway.

The resolution is sponsored by Rep. Lauren McDonald (26th), Rep. Rick Jasperse (11th), Rep. Brent Cox (28th), Rep. Carter Barrett (24th), Rep. Todd Jones (25th) and Rep. David Clark (100th).


Showing 0 Comment

Comments are closed.