Georgia Weapons Carry License

New applicants must be at least 21 years of age (unless an exception applies) and be a resident of Forsyth County. He or she must present identification in an approved form, and submit a $71.00 fee payable in cash only to the Probate Court of Forsyth County.

Different requirements exist for timely renewal applications, and for applications to replace lost or destroyed licenses originally issued by Forsyth County Probate Court. 

Call the Probate Court office at 770-781-2140 for more information.

Marriage License

Requirements: Both parties must appear with valid ID (driver's license or birth certificate). If divorced, it is not necessary for you to bring in a copy of your final decree of divorce; however, you should have a certified copy of the final decree in your records. Occasionally, a person believing himself or herself to be divorced will discover that such is not the case because someone forgot to obtain, or file, the final decree.

The license fee is $56.00 payable by cash or check. The fee is reduced to $16 upon presentation of the Court form certifying pre-marital counseling. The form and requirements may be obtained from the Probate Court office in person.

Applicants must be at least 18 to apply without parental consent. For age 17, special rules apply.  Please call the Probate Court office at 770-781-2140 for more information.

Contact Us

 Address: 100 West Courthouse Square, Suite 008 Cumming, GA 30040
 Phone: 770-781-2140
 Fax: 770-886-2839
 Email: Contact Us

Our Mission

Probate Court has exclusive, original jurisdiction in the probate of wills, administration of estates, appointment of guardians for minors and incapacitated adults, and appointment of conservators for minors and incapacitated adults. Issues marriage licenses, firearms applications, birth and death certificates and processes passport applications. The Probate Court of Forsyth County is now an "Article 6" or "expanded jurisdiction" Probate Court. Appeals from The Probate Court of Forsyth County are no longer to Superior Court. All appeals are directly to the Georgia Supreme Court or to the Georgia Court of Appeals.